This topic contains 1 reply, and was last updated by  tzager 2 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

Rosie Romine

Dear Tracy Zager,
    My name is Rosie Romine and I use to stay super far away from anything that had to do with mathematics before becoming a teacher. I am a student in the Stanislaus Credential Program, and I currently am teaching first grade. Becoming a teacher has been so much fun and a total learning experience! I have had a pretty rough past with mathematics; many memories that have diminished my confidence to even try to solve math problems. Fortunately, now that I’m teaching, my goal is to make math time a safe place where my students can make mistakes, and ask questions confidently. I love that I have the opportunity to introduce new math concepts to my first graders for the first time in their lives.
    The impact that reading your book this semester has made on my teaching has been huge. Every single chapter has given me tools, interesting scenarios, and great advice as to how I should teach mathematics in my very own classroom. My goal is to give my students the opportunity to learn through collaboration, problem solving, and using manipulatives. I want to help my students find different ways to solve math problems because there really is more than one way to find the answer. In your book, I feel I have been given the tools to do this in my classroom correctly, and realistically. Currently, teaching math in my classroom is now an exciting part of my day and I love it.